Clinics provide preventive and treatment services for tuberculosis, venereal disease, mental illness and cancer. Care provided for tuberculosis includes pneumothorax and other treatment in out-patient clinics of sanatoria, and X-rays and diagnoses at mobile and stationary clinics operated by the Department. A program of vocational counselling, academic and vocational training and employment placement assists in the rehabilitation of the tuberculous. Venereal disease clinics supply free diagnosis and minor treatment. The Manitoba Cancer Relief and Research Institute, which is subsidized by the Province, correlates all cancer activities. A cancer biopsy service is available without charge on a province-wide basis; X-ray and radium services for radiation therapy are available without charge in rural areas and at a charge based on ability to pay in urban areas. Out-patient services are provided at mental hospitals.

The Department distributes drugs to doctors, hospitals and government agencies throughout the health units; penicillin and drugs used in venereal disease treatment, insulin and other biologicals are included; streptomycin and other antibiotics are provided without charge to tuberculosis patients in sanatoria.

Recipients of public assistance are entitled to the services supplied within the health regions by medical care and medical nursing districts and diagnostic centres. The Province provides medical and hospital care for indigents from unorganized territory.

The Provincial Government contributes a per diem grant to hospitals and sanatoria on behalf of all public ward patients and a lump sum grant to teaching hospitals. Local health units and diagnostic units are maintained and operated by the Provincial Health Department which recovers part of the cost from municipalities served.

Saskatchewan.—Health activities in Saskatchewan are the responsibility of the Department of Public Health and the Health Services Planning Commission. The staffs of these agencies have recently been amalgamated and reorganized to provide for more complete integration of their functions under the unified direction of the Deputy Minister of Public Health who now serves also as Chairman of the Health Services Planning Commission. The four main branches of the Department deal with Preventive Services, Regional Health Services, Medical and Hospital Services and Psychiatric Services. In addition, an Administrative Services Branch, a Research and Statistics Branch, and a Health Education Division serve the whole Department.

The Preventive Services Branch has the following divisions: sanitation, nursing services, child health, dental health, communicable disease control, venereal disease control, nutrition, laboratories and vital statistics. The Communicable Diseases Division distributes free vaccines and sera to doctors, health departments and hospitals, and supervises immunization programs and poliomyelitis clinics at Saskatoon and Regina. The Provincial Laboratories provide clinical diagnostic service for rural physicians. Stationary and mobile tuberculosis clinics give diagnostic service and pneumothorax treatments. A Child Health Division provides services for crippled children, including mobile consultation units and a rehabilitation centre for the cerebral palsied. The Nursing Services Division provides field service for venereal disease, tuberculosis, mental health and other programs.

The Regional Health Services Branch is responsible for the organization and administration of health regions: six of fourteen potential regions are in operation. Regional Health Boards assisted by advisory committees administer general public